IAM SO EDGEE GUIZ

2026-03-23 11:05 pm
shamanicshaymin: Asuka hurrying to meet a deadline on her manga. (Asuka :: I'm Working Here!)
[personal profile] shamanicshaymin
A Pixar musical would be the most irony-poisoned shitstorm possible. We’ve seen how they regard women and LGBTQ people, so there’s no fucking way they’d treat traditional musicals with any respect. Pixar isn’t so much “Not like the other girls” so much as it is “Not like those ICKY girls.”

Newsflash: it’s not “edgy” or “rebellious” to mock musicals when Hollywood has shat on them for decades.

Sidenote: I like Moana, but even when I first saw the part where Moai was all, “If you start singing, I’m gonna throw up,” I wanted to smack him so fucking hard he’d leave a crater in the ground.

(no subject)

2026-03-21 09:00 pm
shamanicshaymin: A teddy bear flops on its belly from its pillow. (Rilakkuma :: Too Tired For This)
[personal profile] shamanicshaymin
Goddammit, I swore I would move on from this book, but I keep having thoughts about it, especially the more I learn about the Brontes' lives. A video I listened to said that we don't like to talk about the most traumatic parts of our lives, let alone keep notes or reminders about them. So fiction is probably the closest and safest avenue in which a person might be able to process that trauma. This is something I can definitely relate with--it hurts thinking about the roughest parts of my life. But when I'm writing about other characters like the LISA cast, a bit of me bleeds into them without me realizing it until later, and that's okay. Like if you asked me to write my autobiography, you'd have to drag me kicking and screaming, but I feel safer in my stories and favorite characters (and OCs in the case of original writing)

I think Wuthering Heights disturbs me so much because it's abuse distilled to its very core. The hopelessness, the claustrophobia, how inescapable it seems. It's raw, honest, and cold. All this abuse and misery happens in an isolated place, but the biggest fear is that the outside world looks in, but instead of reacting in horror and trying to put a stop to it, they nod and even approve of what's happening. They think it's normal, acceptable, even good. It's the ugliest aspects of Victorian society, and naturally, it's repulsed by looking at a mirror of itself. That can't be the way it really looks! They're too prim and proper for that! But can one blame the author's "sick imagination" if those are things the author experienced herself? Things she has seen and witnessed and can't scrub from her psyche? And honestly, is society that different now? Today it commits the same sins and refuses to take responsibility as ever. Cruelty is the norm. Victims deserve it. Evil exists because of skin tones, class, and lack of/the wrong religion. It can't be cultivated. It's never our fault. We are Christian. We are Pure.

The mainstream doesn't want to register the abuse, the pain. So it turns to Cathy and Heathcliff's love story instead. It's only another tale of star-crossed lovers, they say. They don't recognize the toxicity and obsession in their relationship because they've been conditioned to believe that "true love" is like this. They don't think any deeper why that relationship might be forbidden, why Heathcliff and Cathy are as wild as they are. It's safer to believe they're tragic lovers who don't have a pile of bodies at their feet. Hell, I'm not going to pretend I understand them, because I clearly don't. I think we're not supposed to like or support them, but understand why they act the way they do. There's a theory that says that Heathcliff represents the "wild" and "ugly" parts of Emily, but also everything that she wishes she could be. Sort of like how some of us relate to fictional villains because they're so powerful and charismatic--traits that we as people pushed around by society and our own lives, wish we could have for ourselves. In the midst of purity culture where people are quick to judge, of course we have to explain that we don't want to be 100% like the villain or endorse everything he does. But god, imagine if after being mistreated for so long, we could do what we wanted and speak our minds without consequences. What if we can be fucked up and wrong and not have to be a role model to everyone who shares our minority status? Our wicked overlords and privileged politicians can be as despicable as they want, so why can't we? I wonder if this is that "wildness" that Emily is talking about. I don't know.

I don't know what I'm typing anymore. I think being trapped in this cursed administration is getting to me. I look at my rats and see the love in their eyes, and I'm reminded of Wuthering Heights and how there's people in real life who want to see that love and light snuffed out, leaving only misery, cruelty, and emptiness. Fuck.

(no subject)

2026-03-21 08:45 pm
shamanicshaymin: Kinger philosophizing about something. (Kinger :: Did I Say That?)
[personal profile] shamanicshaymin
That latest Digital Circus episode, huh?

I've been pacing back and forth for episode 8. Now I'm pacing back and forth for June 19th. This show is so good aaaaaaaaaa
shamanicshaymin: Sayaka about to summon Oktavia in Rebellion. (Sayaka :: Bring it On)
[personal profile] shamanicshaymin
Bramwell Theorists: You see, there’s no way Emily wrote Wuthering Heights ‘cause blah blah blah and blah blah blah and there’s no way a woman could write something SO dark!

Me:

via GIPHY



Thank fucking god that theory got debunked.

Emily Brontë, I may not be your book's biggest fan, but in your name, I’m going to write some of the most gruesome unladylike shit imaginable.
shamanicshaymin: A teddy bear flops on its belly from its pillow. (Rilakkuma :: Too Tired For This)
[personal profile] shamanicshaymin
Free! I am finally free! 'Cause after two ragequits and me coming back years later, I can officially say I have read and finished Wuthering Heights.

I still don't like it. (sad trombone)

But! I don't hate it as much as I did before! It's just Not For Me.

Wuthering Heights must’ve been pissed off at my verdict, ‘cause not only was today a blustery gray day, I got a power outage for a couple hours. : p But I still have to copy-paste my rambles from Discord, so here we go.

Warning: Messy Thoughts Overload. )


At least now I finally finished the book, which is a relief. Gives me a bit of closure and justification for my dislike of it. XD Here's the Kate Beaton comics for some much needed humor.
shamanicshaymin: Kinger philosophizing about something. (Kinger :: Did I Say That?)
[personal profile] shamanicshaymin
Listening to the Wuthering Heights audiobook has been an endurance run. D: I think the most I enjoyed myself was the chapter when Catherine I died, since I actually genuinely felt sad for Cathy and Heathcliff. Most of the time, I'm going through the book with begrudging patience and trying to analyze why the characters are behaving the way they do rather than throw in the towel, declare how much everybody sucks, and summon meteors to crash into Wuthering Heights and Thrushcross Grange like I did in my last reading attempts. It still remains the book with the most difficult and unlikable cast for me to deal with outside of Certain Shitty Books That Will Not Be Named. Which always throws me off because I don't mind dysfunctional casts; I even encourage them, especially if they're at least interesting or entertaining to read about! There's just something about the Wuthering cast that really grinds my gears, though funny enough I don't despise Heathcliff nearly as much this time around. And the kids/second gen are more tolerable by sheer virtue of how much they keep getting screwed over and manipulated by the adults. And Edgar is pretty much... there. Unable to do anything. I felt sorry for Isabella, but she's dead now. :(

I'm having a lot of fun playing Ultra Moon again! :3 I actually got disappointed when my 3DS got low on power since I was ready to do an enormous grind session with my grass/water/ground types before we take on Olivia. Half my team is Eevees! :3 (Kris the Umbreon, Mercury the Vaporeon, and Tatara the Leafeon. I have Butter the Ribombee, which is why I shockingly don't have a Sylveon) I'm hoping to evolve my Dartrix Olan Hoyt (or should I say, Olan Hoot? (rimshot)) into a Decidueye soon. Battle Royale is ludicrously hard, but I want to see if I can crack the code to getting better at it, RIP

Five more days until the penultimate episode of The Amazing Digital Circus, aaaaaaaaaaaa
estirose: A Kodak Brownie camera sits on a surface (Brownie Camera)
[personal profile] estirose
Trying to keep this spoiler-lite.

So as I noted in my Demo review, they moved things around, and this is (mostly) great because it makes this old game feel fresh and new.

Combat is a bit of a slog and if you're a veteran player you're going to have to re-learn fighting. They did nerf things a bit so that people new to the game are not spending ten minutes fighting the early ghosts - now others are complaining that this makes the game too easy. While I get being rewarded for skill and strategy, a lot of the professional reviews for the game remarked how awful the combat was/how tanky the first few ghosts were in early game, and I have to agree (it also doesn't help that the tutorial screens need to be clearer and maybe set a little earlier).

It could be that they have to undo some of the nerfing to keep the challenge up, or leave the nerfing to the easiest setting, story mode, to make those fans that love the strategy bits of the new mechanics happier. I don't care. Keep the lower chance of the ghosts suddenly getting really pissed at you, that's all I ask.

I'm adoring the new areas, and I appreciate not having to backtrack to the first location to get (story item) like I did in previous games. Also, slightly more room to fight (story item guardian), which I really appreciate.

Apparently there are some stealth mechanics involved. Can I state how much I hate stealth mechanics? I didn't enjoy them in Fatal Frame 3 either.

On the trivia side, there is a new-ish Itsuki scene just before Mio meets him. I say new-ish because it looks like a reuse of a bit from one of the Wii remake endings. (Shadow Festival ending, to be precise, my favorite ending ever!) The Wii remake endings got cut for this game, but at least a bit of Shadow Festival lives on!

Don't rely on AI coding.

2026-03-11 05:35 pm
estirose: A pixel portrait of a woman (Default)
[personal profile] estirose
My audience probably isn't much into having AI help code software, but I ran an experiment just out curiosity. Basically, I asked 3 different AIs (ChatGPT, Claude, and Llama) code a Stardew Valley Content Patcher mod. I am very familiar with coding these things and can easily spot errors. None of them got the coding right.

What I asked for, and what the AIs had issues with )
shamanicshaymin: Glorious beautiful Shaymin against a flowery backdrop. (Shaymin :: Spring)
[personal profile] shamanicshaymin
I finally saved my Shiny Poiple from 3DS Limbo! :D I also evolved my level 100 shiny Bisharp Golbez into a beautiful blue Kingambit. ♥ I ran into a shiny Voltorb while training, but it exploded before I could catch it, and I stupidly forgot to save beforehand. :( Oh well. What matters is my Shiny Poiple is now at Pokemon Home and I'm hoping to get Legends Z-A soon.
Page generated 2026-03-24 04:37 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios